Ninjas!

10/31/2012

1 Comment

 
In the months preceding Halloween, there were numerous costume ideas that were tossed around by the kids. Too many to count, in fact.  As we entered October, the leading candidates were Star Wars characters - Chewbacca (preferred by Sarah) and Boba Fett (by Caleb).  I wasn't too worried about making a Boba Fett costume.  Caleb was Jenga Fett last year (Boba's son), so I figure the Boba costume would just be a variation of last year's get-up.  It was the Chewbacca costume that had me a bit concerned.  When I mentioned it could be a bit challenging to make the Chewbacca costume, Sarah immediate response was "What do you mean, Dad?  It's easy.  You just get some brown hair and put it all over the costume."  I think she might have concluded her instructions with a "duh" for emphasis, but I'm not positive.

Anyway, as we turned to the final weeks of October, I surprisingly hadn't received many questions from the kids about the status of their costumes.  And given that I still didn't know how I was going to put together a Chewbacca costume, I definitely wasn't going to start the conversation.

Remarkably, somewhere during the month of October, both Caleb and Sarah had a change of heart.  Both wanted to be ninjas.  Caleb wanted to be your standard run-of-the-mill ninja dressed in black and Sarah wanted to be Kai from the Lego Ninjago series (Kai is the ninja dressed in red).  Since neither costume required brown hair, I was fully supportive of their new costume ideas.

Kate handled the costume construction (otherwise known as "let's find all the red and black clothes in our house and put them on the kids").  I handle the sword creation (otherwise known as "cardboard + duct tape = sword").  And when all was said and done, we had two ninjas and, more importantly, two very happy kids.

Below you'll find a few pre-trick or treating photos, a photo of the ninjas protecting their loot, and a photo of them celebrating a job well done!
Kelhead
10/31/2012 08:37:53 pm

Worth the wait!! Glad u guys had fun! Xoxo :)

Reply



Leave a Reply.