Written by guest blogger, Kate.  :)

So I was the first driver this morning, taking the 5am to 8:30 first leg. We stopped at the beloved Vince Lombardi rest area, last gas stop in Jersey, filled the tank and got some snacks. I tried to buy a single serve container of watermelon chunks. Then they told me it cost $4.69. I could buy a whole watermelon for that! So I gave in to the service area fast food culture, and we ate prepackaged muffins and cinnamon rolls. Sometimes I can't help it, my cheap gene overtakes my desire to feed my children healthy options. John drove for a while and then Sarah needed a potty stop. So now it's almost 11am and I say I'll drive again, thinking I can probably finish the trip.

Ha.

I get about an hour down the road and I am sleepy eyed and my back is throbbing. How did I get so dang old?

John is kind enough not to make fun of me and points out an exit ramp on our immediate right. Sarah announces she has to go potty again, which gets me off the hook a little for the extra stop, so as we get off, what's the first option for a restroom?

Ice cream for lunch is acceptable on the 4th of July, right?



Leave a Reply.